ICOM

Recherche avancée                    
 
  Qu'est ce que l'ICOM
  Mission
  Siège
  Code de déontologie pour les musées
  Statuts
  Partenaires
  Communiqués de presse


Organes de direction

Comités

Adhérer à l'ICOM

Activités

Ressources












 
  NOUS CONTACTER
  PLAN DU SITE
  LISTES DE DISCUSSION
 


 

Communiqués de presse



Museum Domain Management Association
The .museum Registry


Pour diffusion immédiate

LE NOM DE DOMAINE ".MUSEUM" ACCEPTERA LES DEMANDES D'ENREGISTREMENT À PARTIR DU 30 JUIN

Ce nouveau nom de domaine générique permettra d'attirer l'attention sur les musées du monde entier

PARIS--(BUSINESS WIRE)-28 juin 2001--The Museum Domain Management Association (MuseDoma) annonce qu'elle acceptera les demandes préliminaires d'enregistrement de noms de domaine sous le nouveau nom de domaine générique ".museum" à partir du 30 juin. Ce nom de domaine générique, l'un des premiers à être sponsorisé, offrira une certaine reconnaissance aux musées, aux associations professionnelles et aux membres de la profession via une identité en ligne commune et distincte.

Le nom de domaine générique ".museum" a été proposé par MuseDoma (www.musedoma.org), organisation à but non-lucratif créée par l'ICOM (International Council of Museums), avec l'aide du J. Paul Getty Trust. Le 16 novembre 2000, l'ICANN (Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers) a choisi ".museum" pour être l'un des sept nouveaux noms de domaine génériques à être ajoutés à la nomenclature de l'Internet. MuseDoma, seul administrateur de ".museum", sera responsable de son fonctionnement au jour le jour, notamment en matière de décisions stratégiques sur les conventions de noms au sein du domaine et sur l'utilisation des revenus générés. Le nom de domaine ".museum" sera accordé uniquement aux musées et à leurs organisations professionnelles.

" Nous nous réjouissons des opportunités offertes par le nom de domaine générique ".museum" ", déclare Cary Karp, président de MuseDoma et directeur de la division Stratégie et technologie Internet au Muséum d'histoire naturelle suédois. " Un grand nombre d'associations culturelles et de embres de la communauté scientifique nous ont fait part de leur intérêt et de leurs remarques. Dès que MuseDoma acceptera les demandes d' enregistrement, le nom de domaine générique ".museum" devrait générer un afflux supplémentaire de membres de la communauté et faire de ".museum" une réalité ".

" En créant ".museum", MuseDoma modifie la visibilité des musées et leur permet, où qu'ils se trouvent, quel que soit leur domaine, la taille de leurs collections ou leur niveau de financement, de bénéficier de la technologie Internet ", déclare Manus Brinkman, secrétaire général de l' ICOM. " Le nom de domaine générique ".museum" constitue une révolution dans le monde des musées et ICOM se réjouit de faire partie de ceux qui ont initié ce projet afin d'accroître les connaissances du grand public et de lui permettre d'accéder aux trésors scientifiques et culturels du monde entier ".

MuseDoma présentera son prototype de service d'annuaire pour le nom de domaine ".museum" à l'occasion de la Conférence et de l'assemblée générale 2001 de l'ICOM qui s'ouvrira le 30 juin à Barcelone (Espagne). Les personnes intéressées trouveront des renseignements sur la procédure d'enregistrement sur le site Internet http://www.musedoma.org/name_requests ou peuvent demander des informations par e-mail à l'adresse request.form@musedoma.org.
Pour plus d'informations sur l'ICOM et sur ICOM 2001, veuillez consulter le site http://icom.museum.

 

 

 


 
 
   
Updated: 28 Juin 2005

ICOM

Advanced Search                   
 
  What is ICOM
  Mission
  Headquarters
  Code of Ethics for Museums
  Statutes
  Partners
  Press Releases


Governing Bodies

Committees

Become a member

Activities

Resources












 
CONTACT US
SITE MAP
DISCUSSION LIST
 


 

Press Releases

Museum Domain Management Association
The .museum Registry

For Immediate Release - June 28, 2001

DOT-MUSEUM DOMAIN WILL BEGIN ACCEPTING REQUESTS JUNE 30

New TLD .museum will create shared focus for the global museum community

PARIS -- The Museum Domain Management Association (MuseDoma) has announced that it will accept preliminary requests for name reservations in the new top-level domain (TLD), ".museum" beginning June 30. The .museum TLD, one of the first sponsored TLDs, was created to provide bona fide museums, their professional associations and individual members of the museum profession with a distinct and unified online identity.

The .museum TLD was proposed by MuseDoma (www.musedoma.org), a nonprofit trade organization created by the International Council of Museums (ICOM) with the assistance of the J. Paul Getty Trust. On Nov. 16, 2000 the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) selected .museum as one of seven new TLDs to be introduced into the nomenclature of the Internet, with MuseDoma to act as the sole trustee of the .museum TLD, responsible for its day-to-day operations, including policy decisions on the naming conventions within the domain and the use of revenues. The .museum domain will be restricted, with eligibility limited to museums and their professional organizations.

"We are enthusiastic about the opportunities presented by the .museum TLD," said Cary Karp, president of MuseDoma and director of Internet Strategy and Technology at the Swedish Museum of Natural History. "We have received a great deal of initial interest and comment from the cultural and scientific communities and this first stage, when MuseDoma begins accepting name requests, is intended to generate additional community input and bring .museum one step closer to realization.

" "By establishing the .museum TLD, MuseDoma is changing the visibility of museums and enabling museums everywhere, regardless of expertise, size of collections or level of funding, to benefit from Internet technology," said Manus Brinkman, Secretary General, International Council of Museums. "The .museum TLD is a breakthrough for the museum community and ICOM is pleased to be among those who are leading this effort to increase public knowledge and access to the world's cultural and scientific treasures."

MuseDoma will introduce its directory service prototype for the .museum domain during the ICOM General Conference and Assembly 2001, which begins June 30 in Barcelona, Spain. Interested parties can find additional information about the .museum registration process at http://www.musedoma.org/name_requests or e-mail: request.form@musedoma.org.
For information about the International Council of Museums and ICOM 2001, visit www.icom.org

 

 

 

 
 
   
Updated: 11 July 2005