ICOM

Recherche avancée                    
 
  Qu'est-ce que l'ICOM
  Mission
  Siège
  Code de déontologie pour les musées
  Statuts
  Partenaires
  Communiqués de presse


Organes de direction

Comités

Adhérer à l'ICOM

Activités

Ressources












 
  NOUS CONTACTER
  PLAN DU SITE
  LISTES DE DISCUSSION
 


 

Communiqués de presse

Paris, le 19 juin 2009

L’ICOM en quelques mots
Créé en 1946, l’ICOM (International Council of Museums) est une organisation internationale non-gouvernementale en relation formelle d’association avec l’UNESCO, qui jouit d’un statut consultatif auprès du Conseil économique et social des Nations Unies.

L’ICOM est la seule organisation internationale représentant les musées et les professionnels des musées. L’ICOM c’est :

  1. Une arène diplomatique rassemblant des représentants issus de 155 nations
  2. Un « think tank » composé de 30 comités internationaux représentants les spécialisations de l’ICOM
  3. Des missions de service public international notamment dans le cadre de la lutte contre le trafic illicite et les programmes d’urgence en cas de catastrophes naturelles ou de conflits armés
  4. Un réseau composé de près de 30 000 professionnel des musées à l’international
  5. Une labellisation des musées en termes d’éthique et de déontologie (code de déontologie de l’ICOM)

Les rencontres annuelles de l’ICOM
Au vu de ses statuts, l’ICOM réunit tous les ans ses membres au sein d’une Assemblée générale. Ces journées internes ont vocation à faire le bilan de l’année passée et de lancer les grands chantiers pour l’année à venir.
Autre grand événement caractérisant l’ICOM : la Conférence générale de l’ICOM, rendez-vous triennal qui se réunira à Shanghai du 7 au 12 novembre 2010.

Alissandra Cummins, Présidente de l’ICOM
Alissandra Cummins (Barbade), a été élue Présidente du Conseil international des musées (ICOM), le 8 octobre 2004, à Séoul (Corée, Rép. de). C'est la première fois de son histoire que l'ICOM élit une femme à la présidence de l'Organisation. Diplômée en muséologie de l'Université de Leicester (Royaume-Uni) en 1989, Alissandra Cummins a commencé sa carrière en tant qu'Assistante de recherche au Museum of Mankind, (Royaume-Uni). Elle occupe par la suite le poste de directrice adjointe du Barbados Museum and Historical Society, St Michael (Barbade), dont elle est directrice depuis 1985. Alissandra Cummins est également la présidente de la Commission nationale de la Barbade à l'UNESCO.

Julien Anfruns, Directeur général de l’ICOM
Julien Anfruns est le Directeur général du Conseil international des musées (ICOM) Il est également Président du Comité international du Bouclier Bleu (protection du patrimoine culturel dans les zones en conflit et en cas de catastrophe naturelle). Après des études à Sciences Po Paris, à l’ENA et à l’Edhec, il a été responsable des affaires économiques et financières du Ministère de la culture et de la communication entre 2002 et 2005. Directeur financier et juridique du musée du Louvre de 2005 à 2008, Julien Anfruns a notamment participé aux missions de développement stratégique du musée du Louvre tant en France qu’à l’international. Il a par ailleurs, occupé différentes fonctions en ambassade aux Nations Unies à New-York, en Finlande et en Estonie.

Pour tous les sujets liés à la communauté muséale mondiale et pour interviewer le Directeur Général de l’ICOM :
Contact presse : Nadine AMORIM – Tél. + 33 1 47 34 91 63 – amorim@icom.museum

 

 
 
   
Updated: 22 June 2009

ICOM

Advanced Search                   
 
  What is ICOM
  Mission
  Headquarters
  Code of Ethics for Museums
  Statutes
  Partners
  Press Releases


Governing Bodies

Committees

Become a member

Activities

Resources












 
CONTACT US
SITE MAP
DISCUSSION LIST
 


 

Press Releases

English | French | Spanish

Paris - 19 June 2009

ICOM in short
Created in 1946, ICOM (International Council of Museums) is an international non-governmental organization maintaining formal relations with UNESCO and having a consultative status with the United Nations' Economic and Social Council.

ICOM is the only international organization representing museums and museum professionals.
ICOM is:

  1. A diplomatic arena made up of representatives from 155 nations
  2. A think-tank composed by 30 International Committees which represent ICOM’s specialities
  3. Missions of international public service notably in the fight against illicit traffic and emergency programmes in case of natural disasters or armed conflicts
  4. An international network composed of 30 000 members
  5. A label for museums in terms of ethics (ICOM code of ethics)

 
ICOM Annual Meetings:
In accordance with its Statutes, ICOM convenes its members once a year during its General Assembly. These internal meetings aim to review the previous year and to launch major projects for the forthcoming year.
Another important event which characterises ICOM is the ICOM General Conference, held every three years, the next meetings of which will be in Shanghai 7 to 12 November 2010.

Alissandra Cummins, ICOM President
Alissandra Cummins (Barbados) was elected President of the International Council of Museums (ICOM) on October 8, 2004 in Seoul, Republic of Korea. This was the first time that ICOM has elected a female president as head. Alissandra Cummins holds a Bachelor of Arts Degree with Honours in the History of Art from the University of East Anglia, Norwich, and a Masters of Arts in Museum Studies from Leicester University,UK. She was also Assistant Director of the Barbados Museum and of the Historical Society, St Michel (Barbados) where she is Director since 1985. Alissandra Cummins is also the Head of the Barbados’s Delegation to the World Heritage Committee at UNESCO.      

Julien Anfruns, ICOM General Director
Julien Anfruns is the Director General of the International Council of Museums (ICOM). He is also President of the International Committee of the Blue Shield (ICBS) which promotes the protection of cultural heritage as defined in The Hague Convention. Julien Anfruns was educated at the Institute of Political Sciences of Paris, the French National School of Administration (ENA) and the Edhec Business School. From 2002 to 2005, Julien Anfruns was in charge of Economic and Financial Affairs at the French Ministry of Culture and Communication. He then became Director of Administration, Financial and Legal Affairs at the Louvre Museum (2005-2008), where he was part of the strategic development of the Louvre both in France and abroad. He also occupied several diplomatic posts at the United Nations in New York, as well as in Finland and Estonia.

For all questions concerning the world museums community and for interviews with ICOM’s Director General, please contact the press office:
Nadine AMORIM - Tel. + 33 1 47 34 91 63 - amorim@icom.museum

 
 
   
Updated: 22 June 2009