Architecture Thesaurus. Los Angeles: Getty Information Institute.
The AAT is available, free of charge, on the World Wide Web at
www.gii.getty.edu. The AAT is also available through on-line services.
In addition, AAT data is available for licensing to organizations
developing their own data management systems. For more information
J.R. Inventories and Catalogues for Auctioneers. London:
Estates Gazette Ltd., 1976.
H. and Trant, J. Introduction to Imaging. Santa Monica:
The Getty Art History Information Program, 1995.
W.A. The Guarding of Cultural Property. Paris: UNESCO,
Church Security: A Simple Guide. London: Council for the Care
of Churches, 1989.
"The Photography of Church Furnishings for Record and Security".
Churchscape, Vol. 9 (1990), 23-37.
T. Photographing Historic Buildings. London: Her Majestys
Stationery Office, 1983.
and Code of Ethics, New York: Appraisers Association of America,
for the Description of Works of Art. Santa Monica: The Getty
Art History Information Program, 1997.
R.G., and Homulos, P. "Museum Data Standards". Museum, Vol. 314
Protection. Gloucester (U.K.): Ecclesiastical Insurance Group,
E., and Askerud, P. Preventing the Illicit Traffic in Cultural
Property: a Resource Handbook for the Implementation of the 1970
UNESCO Convention. Paris: UNESCO, 1997.
S. How to Photograph Works of Art. New York: Amphoto, 1992.
and Jeffrey, G. Safe and Sound?: A Guide to Church Security.
London: Council for the Care of Churches, 1996.
Prevention News (London). "The Fine Art of Beating Burglars".
P. The Camcorder Users Video Handbook. Boxtree: London,
Architectural Photography. Nashville: American Association
for State and Local History, 1981.
P.G. Photography in Archaeology and Conservation. 2nd ed.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1994
Photographic Lighting in Practice. London: Newton Abbot:
David and Charles, 1984.
R. "Authority Reference Tool Edition for the Art & Architecture
Thesaurus: A Review of Version 1.0 and Update". Spectra, Vol.
21, No. 1 (June 1993): 26-27. Getty Art History Information Program
and International Council of Museums International Documentation
Committee. Developments in International Museum and Cultural
Heritage Information Standards. Santa Monica: Getty Art History
Information Program; ICOM International Documentation Committee,
Spectrum: The U.K. Museum Documentation Standard. Cambridge:
Museum Documentation Association, 1994.
M. "Art Theft Computers". Arts Review, Vol. 42 (April 20,
on the Appraisal of Personal Property. Washington, D.C.: American
Society of Appraisers, 1989.
of Standards, Documenting African Collections. Paris: International
Council of Museums, 1996.
Facts and Artifacts: How to Document a Museum Collection.
Cambridge: Museum Documentation Association, 1991.
The ICONCLASS System and Bibliography, together with a very extensive
alphabetical index, were published in 17 volumes by the Koninklijke
Nederlandse Akademie van Wetenschappen (KNAW), in the years between
1973 and 1985. ICONCLASS is also available on the Web at www.iconclass.let.uu.nl.
Art and Antiques Loss Register Ltd. 1993/1994 Annual Review.
London: Art Loss Register, 1994. Journal of Commerce (June 1993).
"Audits of Care: A Framework for Collections Condition Surveys".
Preprints of the RAI Conference, United Kingdom Institute
of Conservators, London, October 1991: 6-16.
D., ed., Museum Security and Protection: A Handbook for Cultural
Heritage Institutions. London: International Council of Museums
and Routledge, 1993.
of Guidance on the Completion of the CRIGEN/ART Form, Lyon:
Interpol Secretariat General, 1996.
"Improvement to Risk Management and Security: the Influence of
the Insurance Industry". Art Theft and its Control Conference,
London, November 1995.
M. "The Development of Common Descriptive Standards: Lessons From
the Archival Community". Spectra, Vol. 17, No. 2 (June 1990):
Categories for Museum Objects: Proposed Guidelines for an International
Standard. Paris: International Council of Museums, 1994.
Missing Objects: Looting in Africa. Paris: International Council
of Museums, 1994.
Missing Objects: Looting in Angkor. Paris: International Council
of Museums, 1993.
Can Paint a Thousand Words. produced for the Arts and Antiques
Squad of the Metropolitan Police (U.K.) by Hiscox Underwriting,
V., and Thornes, R. A Guide to the Description of Architectural
Drawings. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1994.
E. "ICOM and the Battle Against Illicit Traffic of Cultural Property".
Museum International. Vol. 48, No. 3 (1996).
"The Fight against Illicit Traffic in Cultural Property: A Priority
for Museum Professionals". Illicit Traffic in Cultural Property:
Museums against Pillage. Amsterdam: Royal Tropical Institute
and Musˇe National du Mali, 1995.
Your Art & Antiques, London: Metropolitan Police, 1998.
Cultural Objects in the Global Information Society (video),
Santa Monica: Getty Information Institute, 1996.
"Mind in Matter: An Introduction to Material Culture Theory and
Method", in Pearce, S. M. (ed.) Interpreting Objects and Collections.
London: Routledge, 1994.
[D.] A. "International and National Developments in Museum Information
Standards". Computers and the History of Art, Vol. 3, No.
1 (1992): 3-6.
[D.] A., ed. Collections Management for Museums. Cambridge:
Museum Documentation Association, 1988.
ed. European Museum Documentation Strategies and Standards.
Cambridge: Museum Documentation Association, 1993.
[D.] A., and Light, R.B. "Progress in Documentation". Journal
of Documentation. Vol. 36, No. 1 (1980).
and Marceau, H. A Study in the Use of Photographs in the Identification
of Paintings. New York, London: Garland Publishing, 1975:
A. W., ed. Caring for Your Collections. New York: Harry
N. Abrams (for the National Institute for the Conservation of
Cultural Property), 1992.
P.C. Valuation Research and Analysis. A Handbook on the Appraisal
of Personal Property. Washington, D.C.: American Society of
and Smyth, J.N., ed. The Appraisal of Personal Property: Principles,
Theories, and Practice Methods for the Professional Appraiser.
Washington, D.C.: American Society of Appraisers, 1994.
R. Protecting Cultural Objects through International Documentation
Standards: A Preliminary Survey. Santa Monica: Getty Art History
Information Program, 1995.
R. Protecting Cultural Objects in the Global Information Society:
The Making of Object ID. Santa Monica: Getty Information Institute,
R. and Bold, J., ed. Documenting the Cultural Heritage.
Los Angeles: Getty Information Institute, 1998.
Stolen Art". Museums International, Vol. 45, No. 1 (1993):
ed. Antiquities Trade or Betrayed: Legal, Ethical and Conservation
Issues. London: Archetype, 1995.
J., ed. Dictionary of Art. London: Macmillan, New York:
Standards of Professional Practice. Washington, D.C.: The
Appraisal Foundation, 1997.
List of Artist Names. Los Angeles: Getty Information Institute.
The ULAN is available, free of charge, on the Web at www.gii.getty.edu.
ULAN data is also available for licensing to organizations developing
their own data management systems. For more information contact
A. "Church Recording". Surrey Archaeological Collections,
Vol. 80 (1990): 153-159.