ICOM

Recherche avancée                    
 
  Qu'est ce que l'ICOM
  Mission
  Siège
  Code de déontologie pour les musées
  Statuts
  Partenaires
  Communiqués de presse


Organes de direction

Comités

Adhérer à l'ICOM

Activités

Ressources












 
  NOUS CONTACTER
  PLAN DU SITE
  LISTES DE DISCUSSION
 


 

Communiqués de presse

Comité international du bouclier bleu (ICBS)
19 Avril 1999


Appel pour la protection du patrimoine culturel en Yougoslavie

Le Comité international du Bouclier bleu (ICBS) demande à toutes les parties impliquées dans l'actuel conflit dans les Balkans de respecter les accords internationaux relatifs aux conflits armés, notamment la Convention de La Haye de 1954 pour la protection des biens culturels en cas de conflit armé et le nouveau Protocole de ladite Convention adopté, à La Haye, le 26 mars 1999, par 84 Etats et 2 organisations (ICBS, CICR).

Les souffrances humaines sont largement reconnues : des civils ont été tués ou blessés et des centaines de milliers de personnes ont été chassées de leurs maisons et déplacées. Le Comité international du Bouclier bleu (ICBS) exprime toute sa compassion à tous ceux qui souffrent de ces actes de violence.

Le patrimoine culturel qui constitue une part fondamentale de l'identité et de la dignité de tous les peuples est toujours victime lors de conflits armés. L'ICBS exprime sa grave préoccupation au sujet des dommages subis par le patrimoine culturel des peuples de Yougoslavie résultant d'actions militaires ou d'autres actes de violence commis de tous côtés.

Le Comité international du Bouclier bleu incite toutes les parties du conflit à tout mettre en ouvre pour protéger musées, archives, monuments, bibliothèques et tout autre site qui sont les témoins de l'histoire des populations de cette région et constituent une preuve de leur identité.

La mission de l'ICBS, reprenant l'emblème de la Convention de La Haye de 1954 pour la protection des biens culturels en cas de conflit armé, est de rassembler, diffuser l'information et coordonner les actions lors de catastrophes naturelles ou de conflits armés pouvant affecter le patrimoine.

L'ICBS a été fondé en 1996 par quatre organisations non gouvernementales :

 

ICA
http://www.archives.ca/ICA/
Tel. 33 (0)1 40 27 63 06
Fax 33 (0)1 42 72 20 65
ICOM
http://www.icom.org
Tel. 33 (0)1 47 34 05 00
Fax 33 (0)1 43 06 78 62
ICOMOS
http://www.international.icomos.org
Tel. 33 (0)1 45 67 67 70
Fax 33 (0)1 45 66 06 22
IFLA
http://www.ifla.org
Tel. (31 70) 31 81 884
Fax (31 70) 38 34 827
Ou
Tel. 33 (0)1 47 03 87 26
Fax 33 (0)1 47 03 77 25

 
 
   
Updated: 28 Juin 2005

ICOM

Advanced Search                   
 
  What is ICOM
  Mission
  Headquarters
  Code of Ethics for Museums
  Statutes
  Partners
  Press Releases


Governing Bodies

Committees

Become a member

Activities

Resources












 
  CONTACT US
  SITE MAP
  DISCUSSION LIST
 


 

Press Releases

International Committee of the Blue Shield (ICBS)
19 April 1999


Appeal for the Protection of the Cultural Heritage in Yugoslavia

The International Committee of the Blue Shield (ICBS) urges all parties in the present conflict in the Balkans to comply with the international treaties relating to armed conflicts, especially the 1954 Hague Convention for the Protection of Cultural Property in the Event of Armed Conflict and its new Second Protocol, agreed by 84 countries and two organisations (ICBS, ICRC,) in The Hague on 26 March 1999.

Attention has been paid to the human suffering: civilians have been killed or wounded and hundreds of thousands of people have been forced to leave their homes and become refugees. The International Committee of the Blue Shield expresses its sincere sympathy for all those who suffer under this violence.

Cultural heritage constitutes a fundamental part of the identity and dignity of peoples and is always a victim during armed conflicts. The ICBS expresses its serious concern about all damage to the cultural heritage of the peoples of Yugoslavia resulting from military action or other deeds of violence by all sides in the conflict.

The ICBS therefore calls upon all parties in the conflict to do everything within their power to protect museums, archives, libraries, monuments and all other sites that are expressions of the history and the right of existence of the peoples in this region.

The mission of the ICBS, which has taken up the emblem of The Hague Convention of the 1954 for the Protection of Cultural Property in the Event of Armed Conflict, is to collect and disseminate information, and to co-ordinate action in emergency situations affecting cultural heritage, such as armed conflicts or natural disasters.

The ICBS was founded in 1996 by four non-governmental organisations:

- ICA: International Council on Archives

- ICOM: International Council of Museums

- ICOMOS: International Council on Monuments and Sites

- IFLA: International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions

 

 
 
   
Updated: 11 July 2005