Communiqué de presse - ICOM

Back to Press Releases Sommaire

7 mars 2003

Communiqué du Comité international du Bouclier Bleu (ICBS)concernant
l'impact d'une guerre sur le patrimoine culturel iraquien


Dans l'éventualité d'une guerre en Iraq, le Comité international du Bouclier Bleu (ICBS) exprime son inquiétude profonde envers les dommages et la destruction potentiels du patrimoine culturel.

Bien que parfaitement conscient qu'il y ait d'autres sujets d'inquiétude en temps de guerre, en particulier la perte de vies humaines, le Comité demande instamment à tous les gouvernements concernés d'oeuvrer dans l'esprit de la Convention de La Haye pour la Protection du patrimoine culturel en cas de conflit armé afin de protéger les archives, les bibliothèques, les monuments et les sites ainsi que les musées, au cas où la guerre éclaterait en Iraq ou dans la région.

L'ICBS a la conviction que l'accès au patrimoine culturel authentique est un droit fondamental de l'homme. Les dommages causés au patrimoine culturel et sa destruction représentent un appauvrissement non seulement pour la vie culturelle de la communauté directement impliquée mais pour l'humanité toute entière. Cette conviction s'exprime dans plusieurs conventions internationales. L'Iraq est universellement connu pour avoir un patrimoine culturel particulièrement riche. On décrit souvent cette région comme "le berceau de la civilisation". La perte d'une partie de ce patrimoine représenterait certainement une perte pour tous les peuples du monde.

L'ICBS souhaite mettre l'accent sur le fait que le droit humanitaire international interdit l'usage de biens culturels à des fins militaires ou pour protéger des objectifs militaires.

Au lendemain d'un guerre éventuelle en Iraq L'ICBS appelle tous les gouvernements en position d'agir à fournir les ressources, humaines et financières, nécessaires pour évaluer les dommages de guerre subis par le patrimoine culturel et pour mettre en oeuvre les programmes de restauration et de réhabilitation nécessaires. Dans le cas de pillage du patrimoine culturel, les experts auront pour tache de préparer en détail un plan pour le rapatriement ou la restitution des biens concernés, avec la participation d'érudits iraquiens et de professionnels du patrimoine.

L'ICBS souhaite répondre aux demandes d'assistance technique et de coordination qui pourraient lui être faites en apportant conseil et assistance dans la limite des ressources dont il dispose.
Entre temps, l'ICBS appelle tous les gouvernements qui ne sont pas partie à la Convention de La Haye pour la protection du patrimoine culturel en cas de conflit armé à le devenir.

Adopté par le Comité international du Bouclier Bleu le 7 mars 2003

Plus d'information sur le Comité international du Bouclier Bleu à l'adresse : http://icom.museum/bouclierbleu.html

Mise à jour : 7 mars 2003
In english


Email us
home page
Search

Advanced Search                   
 
  What is ICOM
  Mission
  Headquarters
  Code of Ethics for Museums
  Statutes
  Partners
  Press Releases


Governing Bodies

Committees

Become a member

Activities

Resources

 













 
  CONTACT US
  SITE MAP
  DISCUSSION LIST
 


 

Press Releases

Statement by the International Committee of the Blue Shield on the Impact of a War on Cultural Heritage in Iraq


7th March 2003

The International Committee of the Blue Shield (ICBS) expresses its profound concern about the potential damage to, and destruction of, cultural heritage in the event of war in Iraq.

Whilst the ICBS is keenly aware that there are other compelling concerns at times of armed conflict, not least the loss of human life, the Committee urges all the governments concerned to work within the spirit of The Hague Convention for the Protection of Cultural Property in the Event of Armed Conflict, to protect archives, libraries, monuments and sites, and museums, if war breaks out in Iraq and in the region.

The ICBS believes that, access to authentic cultural heritage is a basic human right. Damage to, and destruction of, cultural heritage represents an impoverishment, not only of the cultural life of the community directly concerned, but of humanity as a whole. This belief is expressed in several international conventions. Iraq is universally recognized to be especially rich in cultural heritage. The area is often described as the 'cradle of civilisation'. The loss of parts of that heritage would certainly represent a loss to all the peoples of the world.

The ICBS wishes to stress that international humanitarian law prohibits the use of cultural property for military purposes or to shield military objectives.

In the aftermath of any war in Iraq, the ICBS calls upon all governments in a position to act to provide the necessary resources, human and financial, to assess the damage caused by the conflict to cultural heritage and to implement plans for the necessary repairs and restoration. In the case of looting of cultural property, detailed plans by trained experts should be prepared for the repatriation or restitution of the property concerned, with the involvement of Iraqi scholars and heritage professionals.

The ICBS is willing to respond to requests for technical assistance and co-ordination which may be required by providing advice and assistance within the resources available.

Meanwhile, the ICBS calls upon all governments which have not yet become party to The Hague Convention for the Protection of Cultural Property in the Event of Armed Conflict and its two Protocols to do so.

Adopted by the International Committee of the Blue Shield, 7th March 2003.

More information about the International committee of the Blue Shield at: http://icom.museum/emergency.html

 

 

 
 
   
Updated: 11 July 2005